Museveni appoints Justice Mugenyi to replace Dr Kiggundu as EC chairperson


President Museveni has appointed a new Electoral Commission barely one day after the expiration of Dr Badru Kiggundu-led one.

In a letter to parliamentary Speaker Rebbecca Kadaga, Museveni designated Simon Mugenyi Byabakama, the Court of Appeal judge to replace Kiggundu who led the commission for unprecedented period of 14 years as EC chairperson at least under the latter’s 30-year reign.

“By the authority given to the president by Article 60(1) of the constitution of the republic of Uganda, I have nominated the following persons to be members of the electoral commission,” Museveni’s letter to Speaker reads in a part.

The other appointees who now wait vetting by the appointments committee of parliament before assuming office include Hajjat Aisha Lubega (vice chairperson) and Commissioners Peter Emorut, Steven Tashobya, Prof George Piwang and Mustapha Ssebaggala Kigozi.


Written by Uganda Updates

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Eternal Life – Topic 1

Information and National Guidance Minister Frank Tumwebaze’s quick take on new EC team